50 engineering leaders become Fellows of the Royal Academy of Engineering

2 mins read

Fifty engineers from the UK and around the world have been elected as Fellows of the Royal Academy of Engineering in recognition of contributions to the profession.

The 50 new Fellows will be formally admitted to the Academy at its AGM in London today, in addition to four International Fellows and one Honorary Fellow, who will add their expertise to the Fellowship of nearly 1,600 world-leading engineers from both industry and academia.

The new Fellows include Air Vice-Marshal Susan Gray CB OBE, one of the most senior women in the British military, who has been elected in recognition of her outstanding contributions to military engineering. Systems engineer Peter Lomas, who designed the hardware for the Raspberry Pi is also recognised, alongside ground engineering expert and government energy advisor Professor Rebecca Lunn MBE.

James O'Callaghan, founding director of Eckersley O'Callaghan, is known for his leading expertise in the design of glass structures and his work with Apple has enabled the brand’s global flagship stores to occupy extraordinary glass structures.

The UK’s fast-growing space sector is also represented with the inclusion of Professor Guglielmo Aglietti, director of Surrey Space Centre, and serial space-entrepreneur Rob Spurrett, director of Cherry Space Ltd. Leading technologists also made the list, including robotics engineer Dr Barry Lennox, who heads the largest nuclear robotics research group in the UK at the University of Manchester.

Industry leaders joining the Fellowship include Sir George Buckley, chairman of Stanley Black & Decker; Paul McKinlay, senior vice president and head of Airbus’s Broughton Plant; and Dr Graham Hoare OBE, director of global vehicle evaluation and verification at Ford Motor Company.

Other small and medium sized companies are represented by Brian Palmer, CEO of production design and manufacturing firm, Tharsus; David Johnson, railway engineer and founder of railway gauging company, DGauge; and Andy Ward, CTO at logistics and real-time location experts, Ubisense.

The Academy has elected Professor Frances Arnold from the California Institute of Technology; Professor Zhenya Liu, chairman of the Global Energy Interconnection Development and Cooperation Organization (GEIDCO), China; Dr Heung-Yeung (Harry) Shum of Microsoft Corporation and Professor Ji Zhou, former president of the Chinese Academy of Engineering as International Fellows, in recognition of their outstanding international engineering achievements.

Philip Greenish CBE, former CEO of the Royal Academy of Engineering, is awarded an Honorary Fellowship for providing outstanding leadership to UK engineering for the last 14 years, transforming the impact of the Academy and the effectiveness of the engineering profession.

Professor Dame Ann Dowling OM DBE FREng FRS, president of the Royal Academy of Engineering, said: “I am delighted to welcome all our new Fellows to the Academy - together they represent the very best of UK engineering. Representing the country’s most innovative and creative minds from both academia and industry, the achievements of our new Fellows highlight the critical role engineering has in addressing major societal challenges and ensuring our readiness for the future. We are very much looking forward to working with them in the future as we continue to fulfil our vision of engineering at the heart of a sustainable and prosperous society.”

To read the complete list of new Fellows for 2018 please go here: https://www.raeng.org.uk/about-us/the-fellowship/new-fellows-2018